Hanwei Energy Services Corp. Announces Annual General Meeting Results and Corporate Developments

Vancouver, British Columbia (May 22, 2008) - Hanwei Energy Services Corp. (TSX: HE) ("Hanwei" or the "Company") announces the results of its annual general meeting (the "Meeting") held on May 21, 2008. At the Meeting, the shareholders of the Company approved all resolutions placed before them by management, including the election of directors, the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the Company’s auditor, and an amendment to the Company’s share option plan as described in detail in the Company’s management information circular, pertaining to the Meeting, which is available for public viewing at www.sedar.com.

The shareholders elected William Cooke, Fulai Lang, William Paine, Randall Smallbone and Joanne Yan to serve as directors of the Company. Mr. Qingyu Zhang and Mr. Xinduo Yu did not stand for election. As of the close of the Meeting, the Company’s board is constituted of a majority of independent directors, namely William Cooke, William Paine, Randall Smallbone and Joanne Yan.

Mr. Smallbone is the only new director elected and was the former Executive Vice-President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer of KIK Custom Products (KCP Income Fund) from October 2005 to February 2008. He is a financial executive with more than 30 years operation experience in global manufacturing of consumer goods, contract manufacturing, automotive and aerospace parts. He is a director of Joseph Brant Hospital Foundation and has served on several boards and brings significant experience in financial management, capital market, acquisition and investor relations to Hanwei. Mr. Smallbone holds a Certified General Accountant designation.

"On behalf of the board, I would like to welcome Mr. Smallbone to Hanwei " stated Fulai Lang, Chairman of the board. "We would also like to thank Mr. Qingyu Zhang and Mr. Xinduo Yu for their significant contributions to Hanwei’s success and look forward to their continued support as shareholders, and wish them the very best in their future endeavors."

At the first meeting of the newly constituted Board of Directors held immediately after the Meeting, the following individuals were appointed or re-appointed as officers of the Company: (a) Fulai Lang as Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer, (b) Yucai (Rick) Huang as Chief Financial Officer, (c) Kim Oishi as Senior Vice President, Finance and Business Development, and (d) Stephen Wortley as Corporate Secretary.

The Board of Directors also re-appointed William Paine as Lead Director and reconstituted its standing board committees, all of which are comprised of independent directors. The Audit Committee is comprised of William Cooke (Chair), Joanne Yan and William Paine, the Compensation Committee is comprised of Joanne Yan (Chair), William Cook and William Paine and the Disclosure Committee is comprised of Kim Oishi (Chair), Fulai Lang and Yucai Huang.

A copy of the Meeting presentation given by management is available on the company website at www.hanweienergy.com.

For more information please contact:
Kim Oishi, Senior Vice President of Finance and Business Development


Kevin O'Connor, Investor Relations